I’m taking a moment from the usually scheduled machine quilting posts to share with you that there is a new class in the works.  “From Inspiration to Whole Cloth. . .with a twist”.  I mentioned it here on my schedule.

Before I share more about the class I started what I hope to be the next competition quilt yesterday.  Its the Eserita Austin silk organza from this post.  I started quilting it with Kimono silk on top and Bottom Line on the back of the quilt.  The nautilus shells are stitched out in “Hello Kitty Pink”, the pebbles are teal, not sure of the color name/number right now.

The back of the quilt is dupioni silk.  My goal for the back is to keep it all in pink in very stark contrast to the deep purple (with red overtones) of the dupioni.  A double layer of wool batting will keep this quilt structured and offer loft in the areas that aren’t heavily stitched.  I don’t have a formal stitching plan for this quilt, like it’s predecessors “Serendipity Gone Large” will happen as it does with the other Serendipity quilts.
So, back to the class.  Whole cloth quilts have become the focus of what I do as a quilter.  I can’t quite tell you how surprised I was when I realized this and it was sometime between finishing “Serendipity the Third Time Around” and starting this quilt.  (I’m sure I have a few friends in a certain mini-group who would say they knew.  This group of quilters are so wonderful!)  It occurred to me recently that other quilters might enjoy this type/style of quilting so a new class is in the process of being developed and will make its official debut at Olde City Quilts in August.  I can hardly wait to see what the students quilt up.  In the meantime I’ve been experimenting:

 

This is Aurifil Lana (wool) on suede.  I tried stitching with metallic however it just was hidden by the fiber of the suede.  The Lana really pops!  When I can I’ll show more of the samples for this class.

Suffice it to say, it’s not traditional whole cloth quilting.

Happy Quilting!

Teri

